Me; the idol

As most of you (and by most, I mean all) know, I’m deleting my Facebook at the end of June. I think it’s time I offer you some explanation. On the Facebook page I created (oh, the irony), I said that God asked me to do it. And that’s true. But, why? Why would God ask me to give up something as harmless as Facebook?

It would be easy for me to tell you that it takes up too much of my time. And many of you would nod your head in agreement and let me leave it at that.

But that’s not the whole story. And I don’t want to lie to you.

Facebook has turned into this portal that allows me to satisfy my craving for attention in an unhealthy way.

There. I said it.

I have come to care so much about how many people “Like” or comment on my status updates, pictures, or whatever I post.

It’s not that I’m trying to prove to myself that I am loved. I know I have plenty of friends and family members who think I’m pretty great.

The problem is is that I’m always trying to find a way to make them think that I’m better. I try to post things that are wittier, smarter, deeper, or edgier than what I posted yesterday. I love to see the red square in the left hand corner of the screen, alerting me that someone noticed something that I posted and thought it was good enough to take second out of their day to let me know.

I have made this thing called Facebook into an idol.

But maybe it’s not Facebook that has become the idol. Maybe it’s me.

That’s just my explanation of why I’m getting rid of Facebook. I have no doubt in my mind that God has other reasons and plans that I couldn’t even dream of.

[P.S. Maybe you think it seems counterproductive to delete Facebook but start up a blog and a Flickr and keep Twitter and email and texting and…the list goes on. I know it does. I’ve thought about that. I’ve asked myself that same question. All I know is that God asked me to get rid of Facebook. If there comes a day when he asks me to get rid of this blog, I’ll do it.]

Leave a Reply

