Practicing Resurrection

I didn’t know until this year that Easter is a season, not just a day. But it was exactly the kind of thing I was hoping for as Lent drew to an end. I longed for another season of mindfulness stretching out ahead to carry me through the long-lingering winter. I wanted spiritual structure for the remaining weeks of the semester.

So with my minister’s reading of Wendell Berry’s poem, “Manifesto: The Mad Farmer Liberation Front” on Easter Sunday, I latched on to a focus for the coming season: practice resurrection.

IMG_1308

And with the focus came questions: How do I practice resurrection when it’s April and it’s still snowing  and I haven’t seen a proper sunrise since I moved to Michigan? How do I practice resurrection when I have 35 pages to research and write in the next four weeks? How do I practice resurrection when the lease ends at the end of the month and I have yet to find a new apartment to move into?

This is how I have practiced this year:

  • Make a cup of tea
  • And a second
  • Make a whole pot just for yourself
  • Go to bed earlier than you want to
  • Sleep in when you need to
  • Wake up early when sleeping in becomes tiresome
  • Recommit to New Year’s Resolutions
  • Play games
  • Share poetry
  • Sit in silence
  • Make decisions and plans even if you don’t feel ready
  • Let the plans be remade
  • Use a new name for God
  • Study hymns
  • Buy a bunch of daffodils from the supermarket as an act of defiance and hope
  • Watch them bloom too fast as it snows outside
  • Know that dying is part of their nature and not a tragedy
  • Remember there is more life to come

_MG_9687.jpg

How do you practice resurrection?

Leave a Reply

