Art Journals

Over the past few years, I’ve been finding my way back to art. I’ve been inspired by people like Caroline of Made Vibrant and Crystal of #yearofcreativehabits. This year, I made it one of my goals to create every day. I have a huge list of creative projects I want to tackle, but so far I’ve mostly been focusing on mini art journals. And I wanted to share them with you! I’ve finished three this year. Most days I only spend a few minutes putting a few pieces on paper, so it’s slow going. But I love it. I gather inspiration and bits of paper from the world around me, then make something with it.

_MG_1756

Work in progress.

_MG_1807

This is my first art journal of 2017. I was exploring ideas of expanding and moving outward. Pictured is one of my favorite spreads—the words are cut from a running shoe catalog and a bra catalog and make a lovely found poem.

_MG_1800

Here’s the second art journal of the year. This one memorialized a quick trip I made to Nebraska in February. Winters are really hard for me, especially because they last so long where I live in Michigan. Being able to spend an unseasonably warm weekend in my home state with my family was the perfect respite, and I loved capturing some of the small, precious moments on paper.

_MG_1783

And this is the third art journal! It’s pretty short and filled with warm, bright colors to celebrate sunnier days. It’s going to be sent to a dear friend later this week!

Finally, I’ll leave you with a quick glance through all three journals! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

